Skip to main content
Special Education Reading at Friendship School

Special Education Services

As part of the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), the San Diego County Office of Education Special Education department provides a special education program for school-age multi-handicapped students at Friendship School and special education services for students at Juvenile Court and Community Schools throughout San Diego County.

The HOPE Infant Program, through SDCOE's Early Education Department, provides early intervention services for eligible children birth to 3-years-old and their families as mandated under the California Early Start Program, Part C of IDEA, for four Special Education Local Plan Areas (SELPAs): NCCSE, NISER, Poway and South County.

In addition to direct services to students, SDCOE's Special Education Department provides support in the following areas: 

  • Development of interagency agreements and memorandums of understanding
  • Leadership of countywide special education staff development
  • Coordination of non-public schools, including development of master contracts, rate setting and program quality review

The Special Education Department is represented on a number of statewide special education groups and organizations.

For information about special education services at districts throughout San Diego County, please contact the district directly, or the SELPA that represents that district. Details and contact information are below. 

East County SELPA 

Districts Served: Alpine Union, Barona, Cajon Valley Union, Dehesa, Grossmont Union High School District, Jamul-Dulzura Union, La Mesa-Spring Valley, Lakeside Union, Lemon Grove, Mountain Empire Unified, and Santee 

SELPA Director: Heather DiFede, 858-298-2214

North Coastal Consortium for Special Education 

Districts Served: Bonsall Unified, Cardiff, Carlsbad Unified, Del Mar Union, Encinitas Union, Fallbrook Elementary, Fallbrook High School District, Oceanside Unified, Rancho Santa Fe, San Dieguito Union High School District, San Marcos Unified, Solana Beach, Vallecitos, and Vista 

SELPA Specialized School: North County Academy

SELPA Director: Rebecca Nobriga, (760) 307-1657 

North Inland Special Education Region (NISER) 

Districts Served: Borrego Springs Unified, Escondido Union Elementary, Escondido Union High, Julian Union Elementary, Julian Union High, Ramona Unified, San Pasqual Union, Spencer Valley, Valley Center-Pauma Unified, and Warner Unified

SELPA Director: Jaime Tate-Symons, (760) 307-1658